2024 Bob Dudinsky Memorial on 1/27/2024
Region: 7
Class: EC-12
Chevrons: Green Recurring
Date: 1/27/2024 - 1/28/2024
Location: Freedom Lake Park  Pinellas Park,  FL

2024 5th Annual Bob Dudinsky Memorial EC12 Regatta
by Calvin Obara, PRO

The 2024 Bob Dudinsky Memorial Regatta held Jan 27-28, 2024 at Freedom Lake in Pinellas Park, FL is now a memory. 7 skippers competed for the hardware after 2 last minute cancelations and 1 no-show.

Saturday saw picture perfect 8-10 mph breeze from the southeast, and 16 races were completed for the day. Doug Nettles led the way at the end of the day, but unfortunately suffered a mild stroke during the last race and is spending a few days in a local hospital. His wife and daughter drove across the state and after a visit to the hospital, stopped by the lake to give us an update. Good news is that he is doing well and should recover.

Sunday's early forecast was looking dismal, but by race time the breeze was around 12-14mph from the northwest and the predicted showers stayed to the south of us. Towards the end of racing we were experiencing gusts of 18 or more.

At the end, Mark Fleckenstein prevailed with a dominant second half of Sunday, Steve Toelken was second, Jim Rutherford was third. Consensus was to give the Brawner award to Doug Nettles.

2024 5th Annual Bob Dudinsky Memorial EC12 Regatta
Date: January 27-28, 2024
Location: Pinellas Park, FL
Host Club: Golden Triangle Model Yacht Club
# of Entries: 7
Winds: 8-18
Races completed: 26
Scoring System: Low point
Regatta Committee & Valuable Assistants: PRO-Calvin Obara, RD-Chris Dingle, Score keepers-Jamie Dingle and Jackie Mills, Food-Brian Mohs, Others Tom Conners, Dee Dudinsky

2024 5th Annual Bob Dudinsky Memorial EC12 Regatta Results
Place Name Sail # Points

1 Mark Fleckenstein 51 43
2 Steve Toelken 01 73
3 Jim Rutherford 09 94
4 Calvin Obara 44 96.3
5 Doug Nettles 49 103
6 Dan Pearce 306 105
7 Earl Mills 210 116
Race Results for 2024 Bob Dudinsky Memorial
Type  Place  Skipper Sail#  Points  City  St  Home Club 
Single 1 Mark Fleckenstein  1951 43 Skaneateles NY  
Single 2 James Rutherford  9 94 The Villages FL THE VILLAGES MODEL YACHT SQUADRON
Single 2 Stephen Toelken  2301 73 Pinellas Park FL GOLDEN TRIANGLE MODEL YACHT CLUB
Single 5 Douglas Nettles  1449 103 New Smyrna Beach FL  
Single 6 Dan Pearce  306 105 Oxford FL  
Single 7 Earl Mills  210 116 St. Petersburg FL GOLDEN TRIANGLE MODEL YACHT CLUB
Single 99 Steve Lippincott  1330 999 Bradenton FL  
Single 99 William Yarbrough  (Ken) 64 999 Palm Coast FL JACKSONVILLE MODEL YACHT CLUB
Single 99 Frank Ligon  2097 999 Palm Coast FL JACKSONVILLE MODEL YACHT CLUB