SeaWind National Championship Regatta on 11/5/2022

1st - Lehman 2nd - Vinson 3rd - Rasch
1st - Lehman 2nd - Vinson  3rd - Rasch
by Mike Ferring
Al Lehman is the 2022 SeaWind National Champion.
After the first day of the two-day event, Allan Vinson held a skinny three-point lead and Sunday promised a close finish with good racing in moderate wind. Close fought to the end. High drama.
The wind never showed up, but there was a little quiet high drama anyway. The first complete race Sunday didn't happen until after Al Lehman, Sr., grilled the lunchtime brats. And in the three-race drifter finale, Al Lehman fired nothing but bullets while Allan Vinson was sucked back into the pack. Winner: Al Lehman, 31-25.
Fifteen boats lined up for racing at the Gilbert Desert Sky Park on Saturday and Sunday (11/5- 6/2022) in what turned out to be two days of very light wind sailing. Sailing Director Al Stewing got creative with courses, dropping extra marks, and even trying to use a light pole as a start line end, but he couldn't make the wind blow.
The SeaWind National Championship Regatta was a partnership presentation by the West Valley RC Mariners and the Gilbert Model Yacht Club.

Summary of the 2022 SeaWind NCR, Gold Chevrons
Date: November 5-6, 2022
Location: Gilbert Desert Sky Park, Gilbert AZ
Host clubs: West Valley RC Mariners & Gilbert Model Yacht Club
Entries: 15
Winds: Light and variable
Races Completed: 15
Scoring System: Low Point, two throw-outs
Regatta Committee and Valuable Assistants: Mike Ferring; Marc Mills; Al Stewing; Al Lehman, Sr; Mike Eades; Maryellen Ferring; Gary Wollenhaupt; Jack David; Allan Vinson
Race Results for SeaWind National Championship Regatta
Place  Skipper Sail#  Points  City  St  Home Club 
1 Allen Lehman  292 25 Payson AZ Zane Grey MYC
2 Kenneth Vinson  (Allan) 384 31 Phoenix AZ WEST VALLEY R/C MODEL MARINERS
3 Bruce Rasch  595 48 Payson AZ Zane Grey MYC
4 Harold Birkey  (Hal) 439 67 Sun City AZ WEST VALLEY R/C MODEL MARINERS
5 Mauricio Dantas  71 70 Euless TX  
6 Mike Eades  11 80 Wickenburg AZ WEST VALLEY R/C MODEL MARINERS
7 Rob Shaw  709 92 Phoenix AZ  
8 Marc Mills  26 110 Gilbert AZ GILBERT MODEL YACHT CLUB
9 W. Peter Jennings  90 110 Seattle WA WEST VALLEY R/C MODEL MARINERS
10 Robert Piper  (Bob) 465 112 Lantana TX Palm Beach Gardens Model Yacht Squadron
11 Dave Nowak  584 113 Mesa AZ  
12 Mike Ferring  680 127 Phoenix AZ  
13 Ed Olague  86 130 Laveen AZ  
14 George Ribeiro  596 145 Tonto Basin AZ FOSTER CITY RADIO SAILING
15 Michael Hester  (Mike) 404 170 Gilbert AZ